San Antonio, TX

The Hawk woke up in San Antonio, and lit a cigarette.

While I was smoking that cigarette, a tiny, older Mexican woman and I caught eyes, and she joked, “those are bad for you!”.

I replied I knew, and was trying to quit, but that it was easier said than done.  I figured that was that, she’d go her way, I’d go mine.

She, though, stopped in her path and disagreed.  “All you have to do is say it!”, she said. “Ask God for the power and He will give it to you.”

Uh huh, I see where this is going, okay, thanks lady, have a nice day.

“Would you like me to pray for you?”

Sure caught me off guard. “If you want to put me in your prayers, I won’t mind,” I stammered.

She took both of The Hawk’s hands in hers right then and there.  And prayed that God would bestow me the power to conquer my tobacco addiction.  She said I could do it, and God would help.  After we prayed, she wished me well on my journey, and we went our separate ways.

I’m not particularly religious, (that’s a whole different conversation) but the encounter hit me in a different way – I’m known to be cynical, jaded, distrustful of other people.

But from time to time, I see or experience something that, even if just for a moment, restores my faith in people.  Sure, some people have hidden motives, or are mean-spirited or just plain evil.  But some people are genuinely kind and compassionate, the kinds of people that will put themselves in harm’s way for a stranger.

It’s moments like these that I file away for when the skies darken.  “And the world’s not such a bad place!”

Leave a Reply

