Step One

As is customary in our society, there comes a time in every man’s life when he must quit his job, wiggle out of his apartment lease, pack all his worldy possessions into a truck, and set out on the open road.

Huh?  It’s just me?

..Haha, okay, so maybe not everyone feels the utmost compulsion to criss-cross the country sleeping in the bed of a pickup truck, devoid of most common creature comforts.  But I did!  So I did all that – quit the job, said my goodbyes, and headed out on the open road.  And the journey will be documented within these virtual walls, all my hopes, fears, dreams, and wildest ideas collected into this journal.  I hope you, the reader, can gain something from my tribulations.

If nothing else, remember that as big as your personal world is, there are many wide, vibrant worlds out there beckoning for you to experience them.

..As for me, I’m looking for something, though I cannot say with certainty exactly what I seek.  I know that somewhere out there in the wide world, there is a place, not even so much a tangible destination, but simply the feeling of home, warmth, and belonging.  I hope that if I take every beaten and wooded path, charge as enthusiastically into every blessed day as possible, I’ll find my own salvation and happiness.

In the header, under the title of the blog, is a line from the poem Casey at the Bat, written by Ernest Thayer and published in 1888.  The full text of the line is as follows:

“Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;

Somewhere bands are playing, and somewhere hearts are light”

A more accurate description of what I seek hasn’t been written in the last 130+ years.  Will I find it?  Perhaps, though perhaps not.  Will I see things never before seen, taste new tastes, experience experiences unlike any I’ve ever had?  Almost certainly.

If you are interested in following the progress and musings of a curious, thoughtful traveler as he documents a journey into The Unknown, stay tuned.  This blog serves to collect my thoughts, pictures, ideas, and all else under the sun I deem appropriate.

If we’re already acquainted, it’s wonderful to see you again.  If we haven’t yet met, I’m looking forward to getting to know you.

Don’t be shy!  Leave a comment!  Be safe, and live life honorably.

The Lost Hawk

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

